Call Us on 0115 910 33 33

The National Sprint

The National Sprint is a great race that sees the full power of the racing greyhound over 305m, first started in 1989 it has been won by many a sprinting superstar, with the likes of Wheres The Limo, Fast Copper and Jimmy Lollie to name but a few.

1953Rolling Mike13-8FJowett (Clapton)23.05 
1960Gorey Airways Jowett (Clapton)22.79 
1961Hey There Merry Spencer (Portsmouth)23.09 
1962Orions Nearly Blue Bassett (Clapton)22.60
1963Cranog Bet Rees Snr (Clapton)22.71
1964Bright Again5-1Reeve (Unattached)23.03
1966Gallant They Say Keane (Clapton)22.84
1967Fionas Chance O'Connor (Walthamstow)22.71
1968Kattys Prince Godwin (Clapton)23.09
1970Don't Gambol McEvoy (Wimbledon)22.59
1971One Last Day  23.07
1972Hazelbury Silver Johnson Jr (Wembley)22.77
1973Giglis Star  22.91
1974Star Vega  26.71
1975Onitsown Spencer (Portsmouth)27.31
1976Whats The Score14-1Spencer (Portsmouth) 27.56 
1977Glezepta Work Parsons (Hall Green)24.88
1978Sampsons Pal Mullins (Unattached)24.94
1979Knockrour Brandy Greenacre (Unattached)24.90
1980Knockrour Brandy  Greenacre (Unattached)25.19
1981Ballybeg Sport2-5FHolloway (Oxford)24.60
1983Ballybeg Sport Holloway (Oxford)25.19
1984Floating Petal  25.41 
1985Daleys Gold  Fisher (Reading) 16.11 
1986Paddock Speed   16.39 
1987And What   16.38 
1990Wheres The Limo Mullins18.50
1991No Joe Soap Saunders18.70
1992Guns Blazing Fell18.90
1993Fast Copper Copplestone18.34
1994Fast Copper Burrow18.49
1995Sunkleep Wileman18.96
1996Vannahs Flyer Pruhs18.78
1997Tanroyd Sammy Hopper18.78
1998Crescent Classic Jones18.11
1999Gulleen Slaney1-1FConway18.07
2000Elliotts Pride9-1Chambers17.95
2001Nervous Paddy10-11F Evans (Unattached)17.81
2002Very Hot4-1Crapper (Sheffield)18.08
2003Louiseville6-1 Mullins (Walthamstow)17.74
2004Ningbo Jack2-1Lister OBE (Unattached)17.78
2005Clounlaheen6-1 Hurst (Pelaw Grange)17.74
2006Centaur Striker14-1 Lister OBE (Unattached)17.82
2007Unique Option3-1 Pruhs (Peterborough)18.05
2008Horshoe Ping2-1 Reynolds (Romford)17.99
2009Jimmy Lollie5-2 Cahill (Hove)17.67
2010Jimmy Lollie2-1 Cahill (Hove)17.90
2011Drumcrove Lad9-4 Allsop (Monmore)17.91
2012Jumeirah Dubai4-6F Calvert (Sunderland)17.71
2013Helenas Sailor6-4FDonovan (Wimbledon)17.67
2014Geelo Vegas11-4Perry (Sheffield)17.77
2015Scolari Sound4-6FPruhs (Peterborough)17.56
2016Trapstyle Jet5-2Liles (Towcester)17.64
2017Queen Anna9-4McNair (Unattached)17.83
2018Calzaghe Flash1-1FSoppitt (Newcastle) 17.55
2019Troy Bella2-1Mullins (Romford)17.79

 The table below shows how the National Sprint has changed over the year.


*Not Run in 1982